Internet Marketing
Internet Marketing Company | Internet Marketing Services | SEO Company

Healthcare Company India
Healthcare Services India | Healthcare Information | HCX India

Coaching Jobs
Coaching Jobs in Schools, Colleges, Clubs in United States. Coaching Jobs USA

international reporter
Our news publication service, covering news from all over the globe

buy chocolates
Multi-layered and mouthwatering delicious, organic, fresh, free from preservatives, lacto-vegetarian, and/or vegan.

Ask a Question - Astrology Paid Services - Pay Online - Astrology Articles - Astrology Message Board - Astrology Blog  
Occult Astrology

Ask a Question

If you pay for a question,
the next question you ask will be answered for FREE!!!
  » Home » Basic Astrology Lessons » Sky Maps (Nakshtras)

Paid Services
Ask a Question
Individual Consultation
Business Consultation
Spiritual Consultation
Ghost' Removal
Black Magic Treatment
Positive Vashikaran
Vaastu Consultation

Free Services
Sun Signs
Learn Astrology
Fortune Teller
Personality Test

Occult Community
Message Board
About Us
Contact Us

Sky Maps (Nakshtras)

To make it easy on the astrologer to read the position of the planets, the sky has been sub-divided into maps.These maps are calles ' Nakshatras=Naksha+tra'. 'Naksha' means map and 'tra; means guide. Meaning the map of the sky at the time of birth.

In Astrology, there are 12 major planets, each occupying a total of 360 degrees in the sky.Each planet rules a zodiac sign,(example: Scorpio and Aries are ruled by Mars) as you have learnt in the previous lesson.One portion of the sky is also called 'house' which is occupied by one planet each.The twelve portions or houses in the sky are further divided into 28 divisions (Nakshatras), there are27 sky maps measuring 13.20 degrees each.

In short, each Nakshatra is the abode of a house of 28 planets, worshipped by Hindus as demigods.These planets have the potential to guide the cosmic and solar evolution of constellations, asterisms, Lunar Mansions, Sieu or stars. Each sky map or Nakshatra is further divided into 4 steps or 'pada'.

One pada of constellation is also called the Nawamsa(ninth portion)of a sign. The moon is always moving from one one of the 27 Nakshatras to another. When a child takes birth,the Nakshatra, where the moon was located is called the birth nakshatra.

The names of Nakshatra along with their lords given as under:

Sl. Constellation Lord   Sl. Constellation Lord
1 Aswini Ketu   15 Swati Rahu
2 Bharini Venus   16 Visakha Jupiter
3 Kritika Sun   17 Anuradha Saturn
4 Rohini Moon   18 Jyeshtha Mercury
5 Mrigshira Mars   19 Moola Ketu
6 Aridra Rahu   20 Poorva Ashada Venus
7 Punarvasu Jupiter   21 Uttara Ashada Sun
8 Pushyami Saturn   22 Sravan Moon
9 Aslesha Mercury   23 Dhanishtha Mars
10 Makha Ketu   24 Satabhisha Rahu
11 PoorvaPhalguni Venus   25 Poorva Bhadra Jupiter
12 Uttara Phalguni Sun   26 Uttara Bhadra Saturn
13 Hasta Moon   27 Revti Mercury
14 Chitra Mars   28 Abhijit*

* This constellation is composed of some portion of Uttara Ashada (No 21) and some portion of Sravan (No 22).

[ Go Back ]    [ Go Top ]    [ TOC ]    [ Prev Lesson ]    [ Next Lesson ]

Copyright © 2015 Occult Astrology. All rights reserved.
Read our Disclaimer. Send Feedback to the Webmaster.
Refer Friends - Make us Homepage - Bookmark us
Leading India Astro-Website. Astrology for Life, Health & Prosperity.